Skip to content
April 7, 2010 / Steve

Day 97 – Don’t Forget To Dot The “I”

I shot lots of typical volleyball pictures as well as a number of other more typical spring break shots today, but none were as distinctive as this one – especially after cropping it to highlight my subject – the dotted “I”.

Moonlight Beach in Encinitas, CA is one of the closest beaches from where I live, and was my destination today for my lunch/photowalk. Spring break was in full swing today! With temperatures at the beach in the high 70’s, it’s kind of a no brainer I suppose.

It was so tough to tear myself away and get back home to work today. Ironically, one of the best things about self-employment is also one of the worst – having a lot of freedom in your schedule. During this time of year, it’s not easy to sit at a desk working when the gorgeous weather beckons from just a few feet away on the other side of a double-pained window. More often than not, I shut my blinds and do what I’m supposed to, but not always. 😉 I’ve had a couple days off over the Easter holiday, so when I caught myself looking for a comfortable spot, rationalizing what work I could possibly make up in the evening or finish tomorrow morning, I knew I’d better get the heck out of dodge if there was any chance of getting some good work done today.

This particular photo, in its natural uncropped state (at right) was not all that remarkable, but I noticed the position of the volleyball in relation to the net posts and that’s what caught my eye.

I have this thing for photos that capture something that is unique or difficult to repeat. Considering that, you can understand my choice and treatment of the photo.

I set my camera in shutter priority mode (Tv), set the shutter speed to 1/1000 to catch the fast action, and got trigger happy. All of the other settings were on auto, including ISO. More often than not, the camera is smarter than I am. haha

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. epicswife / Apr 7 2010 11:04 PM

    Great capture!!!

  2. Sand Sock Girl / Apr 8 2010 7:07 PM

    Job well done. I so love your shots. What camera you were using?

    • Steve / Apr 8 2010 8:04 PM

      Thanks a bunch!

      I use a Canon 5D Mark II, and on that day was using my Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS lens.

Leave a Reply

