Skip to content
March 21, 2010 / Steve

Day 79 – Anza Borrego Wildflower Bloom

To celebrate the first day of spring, I decided to venture out to the Anza Borrego desert and capture the wildflower bloom that is peaking there now.

Wildflowers are blooming all around southern California now, but what makes this event in the desert so special is that it happens in a climate that averages around 6 inches of rain a year, with summer temperatures in the valleys often ranging 110 to 120 degrees. Not a very flower friendly environment. The bloom starts and ends pretty fast.

This was a first for me so I didn’t know what to expect. The biggest surprise was the throngs of people who were there for the same reason I was. I expected to see others of course, but not like it was. The parking lots at the visitor center and one of the most popular day use areas were full. People were parking nearly a mile away and walking into the areas close to the visitor center that were in bloom. That’s when I decided to get out of dodge and go the opposite direction. In all, I did four different hikes throughout the day, totaling more than 10 miles. Unlike most hiking experiences, there were very few trails. More often than not, you just park somewhere and hike into the desert.

On the longest hike, I was more than 2 hours from my car at one point and there wasn’t a person or any evidence of civilization in sight. That was a pretty cool feeling. Great pictures were just about everywhere you looked.

For some other photos from the day, view more of the photos on my smugmug account.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. gail / Mar 21 2010 4:06 PM

    Beautiful. I can hardly wait to get down to the desert. What is that animal?

  2. Mom / Mar 22 2010 10:08 AM

    I’m a day late posting this. You finally made it to the desert to capture the flowers. Awesome! Totally enjoyed all the additional pictures also!!!!

  3. Marilyn / Mar 22 2010 8:16 PM

    Hi Steve It is hard to believe that such beautiful flowers can grow in a desert. I checked out the others, one picture looked like there was a rabbit in it. Can that be?

  4. Steve / Mar 23 2010 9:40 AM

    Yeah, it was pretty amazing. I enjoyed that trip more than expected. As for the rabbit, you must be referring to this picture:
    http://svsimagery.smugmug.com/Nature/Anza-Borrego-Wildflowers/11574759_fuQug#815484823_Lm7vZ-A-LB

    I tried getting close to take a picture of this Blacktail Jackrabbit but he ran off. I was lucky to get him running away; he was really fast.

  5. Natalie / Mar 25 2010 7:05 AM

    This is a great picture! I especially like how the clouds look as if they are drifting apart.

Leave a Reply

