Skip to content
March 15, 2010 / Steve

Day 74 – Starry Night

My first attempt at a starry sky picture at night.

I thought I would kill two birds with one stone tonight – get some exercise and take my photo for the day. So, I hopped on my mountain bike with photo gear in my pack and headed out for a ride, hoping to find “something” to take a picture of. I remembered seeing this new trail in an area that had been fenced off for a long time, but there was now a large breach in the fence and a pretty substantial trail, so it was time to do some trespassing. Navigating the trail up to the top of a hill was tricky but fun. There was a little bit of a view and I was far enough away from the neighborhood lights to get a better view of the stars. It looked quite a bit better than the photo shows, but this is my first try at this type of shot. For best viewing, click this pic to see the larger version on a dark background. It helps to be in a dimly lit, or darkened room too.

If you know your constellations, then you’ll recognize Orion in the top middle part of the picture. These starry sky pictures are difficult to shoot in an area with so much light pollution, but it is one of those things I’ve been wanting to try. Once again, this project has finally given me a reason to get out and “just do it”. After shooting this, I can see how it would be much better to get out away from any cities or major lights. Unfortunately, that’s not very easy around here.

I’m working toward one of those very long exposures in a place where there is no light pollution, so you get nice long star streaks across the frame – like this amazing shot. Ya gotta walk before you run I guess…

Anyway, the tidbit of city you do see is my ‘hood in Carlsbad. This shot overlooks a bit of Stagecoach Park and La Costa further off.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sheilaparas / Mar 15 2010 10:51 PM

    this reminds me of one of my shots from early last year, taken from the roof of our building. i love the gradient sky. everything looks so peaceful. perhaps i should go up again tonight. thanks for the inspiration.

  2. epicswife / Mar 16 2010 12:14 PM

    Although the light does take away from the stars in this – I really love that the lights are below this particular shot !! It is even more stunning because of them!!! The only way I have ever been able to achieve great night shots was by being very far out of town (on a clear night)!! Good luck and I look forward to seeing more !!

  3. Natalie / Mar 25 2010 7:11 AM

    Wow, Steve! This is an impressive shot!

Leave a Reply

