Skip to content
March 14, 2010 / Steve

Day 72 – Gravity Ride

A popular fair ride looks pretty cool when you slow down the shutter speed just  a tad.

We went and checked out the annual St. Patrick’s Day festival. As you would expect, there was lots of Irish food, green beer and a very lively atmosphere. When I saw this ride I knew I wanted to try to get this sort of photo, only I had never planned to do it in daylight. I took some with a fast shutter speed too, hoping to catch the expression of some people freaking out as the ride tilted up on it’s side, but no such luck. Must have been all gravity ride veterans.

Shot in natural light, no tripod.
Canon 5D Mark II | 1/10 sec. | f/22 | ISO 50

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dave / Mar 14 2010 2:07 PM

    interesting view on 1/10th of a second of life. Shows just how fast these things spin. After some Irish food and green beer, you’d never catch me on that!

  2. Mel / Mar 14 2010 4:43 PM

    I’ve seen the night-times ones like this with the lights, but I think I like this better with all the bright colors!

  3. debbe / Apr 19 2010 7:57 PM

    Wow! This is really great! It’s interesting that you were trying to get the exact opposite of this shot. I’ve attempted to get a shot like this when it’s light out, but it’s always blown out when I do it! Good job!

Leave a Reply

