Skip to content
March 12, 2010 / Steve

Day 71 – Aborigine Oil

I’ve shot this subject before, and got such good feedback on it, I thought I would include it in the project, especially since I actually do admire this painting multiple times every day. Plus, it was sort of a date night, and that takes priority over photo excursions. 🙂

This is an oil painting by an Aborigine artist named Raylene Pula Price, that we brought home from Australia. It hangs at the top of our staircase, so I wasn’t kidding when I said I admire this several times a day. There were several like it but this one fits the color scheme of our home so it fits right in.

This is a crop of an up-close picture of the larger painting, using a very fast lens to grab a shallow depth of field. We felt good to support a local tribal artist, and it’s a beautiful piece of art.

Shot with natural CFL light indoors, with a 50mm lens at f/1.8, 1/25 sec., ISO 400.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Julie Kanitz / Mar 13 2010 9:48 AM

    Nice shot. I will look forward to seeing this painting in your home some day! 🙂
    Good plan to not take away time from your date night!
    jak

  2. Pia / Mar 16 2010 11:58 AM

    I like how you made it look 3d-ish. Neat.

Leave a Reply

