Skip to content
February 22, 2010 / Steve

Day 52 – Cooter’s Guitar Passion

Taken Feb. 21, 2010

** No rednecks were harmed in the making of this photo.

Ok, so his name isn’t really Cooter. This is actually my good friend Erik, and not even close to being a redneck, but he can play the part pretty well!

I highly recommend clicking the picture to view the larger size on this one, so that you can really enjoy the great expression on his face and those wonderful costume teeth. For perspective, this is the same guy from the heartfelt music session with his son from Day 50. Yeah, an absolute transformation. What can I say, the guy’s got skills!

The original plan was to do a nice portrait of him playing the guitar with the lighting and scene to have an edgy stage feel. Well, we accomplished that pretty quickly moved onto the hilarity. A great dinner and many beers later, this shot was taken at 1:20 AM, and was among the first shots of the day, and by far the funniest. I still cannot look at this picture without laughing myself silly.

Erik, you crack me up!

Just before we left to drive back to San Diego, we did one more elaborate shot, with the whole family meditating and levitating – yes, I did say “levitating”.  While I didn’t decide to call this my shot for day 52, it still is a very worthy honorable mention, and I’d like you to see it. My friend Dave, who’s also doing a 365 Project, gave me the idea.

Strobist info:
Alien Bee AB800 fired  into a 64″ Parabolic Light Modifier at 1/4 power, camera right and above. Light stand was about 8 feet away from the subject.

I did my best imitation of the Joel Grimes look in post processing.

Canon 5D Mark II | 1/125 sec. | f/16 | ISO 100

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Pia / Feb 23 2010 10:18 AM

    Hilarious! Can’t believe it’s the same guy. That levitating pic turned out good, too, btw.

Leave a Reply

