Skip to content
February 16, 2010 / Steve

Day 47 – A Blast From My Past

Today was rough. More things to do than I had time for. I spent quite a bit of time this evening rewiring phone jacks around the house (long story). In one of the spare bedrooms, tucked back into a corner, I came across the case of my old Ensoniq EPS keyboard that I played in a band back in the 80’s and early 90’s. Feeling exhausted and uninspired, I realized this HAD to be my picture for the day. So, I took it out of mothballs, threw it up on my card table “photo studio” and shot it with a snooted flash in the dark. Here she is, all dusty and old, like my piano playing and songwriting skills…

There was a time when I used to rock the house with this thing, wearing my skinny ties, double-pierced left ear and fake leather pants, but the fond memories that will suffice. 🙂 There are so many great memories wrapped up in this keyboard and the years that I played it nearly every day. I suppose that’s why I haven’t been able to get rid of it.

Digging this out was very nostalgic, but I’m not at all excited about this picture. It’s just been one of those days. I got nothin’ else ….

Strobist info:
5D Mark II | 60mm | 1/125 sec. | f/11 | ISO 200
430EX at 1/2 power, snooted with a cardboard mailer for rolled photos/paper.

Strobist info: 5D Mark II | 60mm | 1/125 sec. | f/11 | ISO 200 430EX at 1/2 power, snooted with a cardboard mailer for rolled photos/paper.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pia / Feb 17 2010 10:24 AM

    This screams 80’s to me. I saw the pic and the song “Axel F” (Beverly Hills Cop theme song) immediately popped into my head.

  2. Sherrie / Feb 17 2010 10:34 AM

    Definitely a nostalgia pic…Wait what’s that I hear? That music emanating from the basement. Could it be? …Prince? Why yes, I believe it is…

  3. Melissa / Feb 18 2010 5:48 AM

    Wow, yes I think I do hear Prince….I will never forget that on Grandma’s porch you jamming to Prince…what a great memory! You brought a great big smile to my face today!!! thanks I really needed that! 🙂

    • Steve / Feb 18 2010 7:24 AM

      I’m glad! You know it’s funny you mention grandma’s porch, I remembered that too when I was shooting this picture.

Leave a Reply

