Skip to content
February 14, 2010 / Steve

Day 45 – Happy Valentines Day!

Let’s see – chocolate, roses, champagne, diamonds… did I leave anything out?

Susan and I put this concept together, and it evolved from the original idea of actually sticking the earrings into the chocolate. A little disclaimer…. I did give those earrings to Susan as a gift, but not today. They were for our 10th anniversary. She let me borrow them for this concept. I was glad I didn’t have to clean chocolate out of the posts.

Happy Valentines Day!

Tech notes:
5D Mark II | 50mm | 1/125 sec. | f/2.8 | ISO 50

Two white posterboards… bottom and backdrop

430EX flash into a small softbox, corded using ETTL, with flash compensation on the camera tuned to +2. The softbox was positioned at camera right almost directly above the setting, slightly off center to the right and pointed down, left – toward the flute.
6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Gail / Feb 14 2010 5:47 PM

    Lovely, – Romance is alive and well! Susan gets Champagne and chocolate. I get spaghetti and meatballs!

    • Steve / Feb 14 2010 10:15 PM

      Don’t feel bad, I got stew. 🙂

  2. Marilyn / Feb 14 2010 7:12 PM

    Valentines Day is very special to us. We became engaged on Valentines Day.
    You sure captured that romantic feeling in this one.

  3. Gail / Feb 15 2010 6:18 AM

    I didn’t mean for my comment to sound as if I felt bad. I truly felt that the picture was lovely. The set up was very creative and inspired a feeling of romance both past and present. The spaghetti and meatballs were lovingly prepared by my amazing husband of 49 years. Romance is alive and well!!

  4. Kim / Feb 18 2010 9:20 PM

    Gorgeous Steve–I like how the flower petals fade off and the sparkle of the champagne. You are very talented–Love your photos, imagination and your stories.

    • Steve / Feb 18 2010 9:46 PM

      Thanks Kim! I had a lot of fun putting this one together.

Leave a Reply

