Skip to content
February 13, 2010 / Steve

Day 44 – Fireside in the Back Yard

Sometimes, there’s no better place to be than your own back yard on a Saturday night. Or, maybe I’m just getting old. 🙂

I wanted to create a warm, inviting scene. Our fire pit table and a glass of wine came to mind but I had to do a little work to complete the scene. Christmas tree lights were added to a date palm in the corner of the yard to create the background blurry light effect, and it turned out just like I’d hoped, resembling embers from the fire. I added some flash from the left to highlight the wine glass, and that completed my scene.

I started to see that this would be a good way to do your yard decorating, or landscaping – do what would look good in a photo. It helps you see it from another perspective. Funny how we sometimes need to trick ourselves into seeing things in a new way.

Tech notes:
5D Mark II | 1/2 sec. | f/2.8 | ISO 50

430EX Flash into a small softbox camera left using ETTL
Flash compensation was set on camera to -1 EV

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marilyn / Feb 14 2010 6:53 AM

    Happy Valentines Day to you and Susan
    Steve this shot is just wonderful. It would make a great picture that you could frame. I can almost feel the warmth of the fire. This one is a keeper. MK

    • Steve / Feb 14 2010 6:58 AM

      Thanks! I’m glad you like it. I have really enjoyed our patio since we got this table and I wanted to convey the comfortable, warm atmosphere it creates.

  2. Mom / Feb 14 2010 2:43 PM

    Love the picture Steve. Makes me wish I could joint you sitting around the fire. Great affect using the Christmas lights. I like how nice the table looks also in the picture.

    • Steve / Feb 14 2010 2:57 PM

      Well, you’ll be doing that before you know it! Little trick on the table – it’s slightly damp from a moist cloth; makes it have a little more sheen.

Leave a Reply

