Skip to content
February 12, 2010 / Steve

Day 43 – Symmetry

I’ve admired pictures of interesting water droplets for a long time, so I decided it was my turn for a go at this technique. It’s actually quite easy, and it’s pretty fun too.

I used a big skillet, set it on a card table and filled it to the rim with water. Behind it I propped up a white posterboard which I aimed two flashes at from either side of the card table. One had a red gel on it and the other blue (left and right, respectively). Both flashes were fired simultaneously with wireless triggers. I put my camera on the tripod, and used the remote button to snap the shutter as I squeezed water out of an eye dropper in my other hand.

The biggest challenge is to drop the water on the spot where you’ve set your focus, but once that’s done, you just take a bunch until you think you have enough candidates and call it a day.

I titled this one “symmetry” because of the two small droplets on either site of the main drop. This was the only one in about  60 pictures that had anything like this. There are some really interesting pictures in the series. It was hard to choose the one for this post.

If you like, check out more of the pictures from this little experiment on my smugmug gallery.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Julie Kanitz / Feb 12 2010 8:08 PM

    Impressive! I’ll have to look at your other photos from this experiment.
    Have a fun weekend. jak

  2. Marilyn / Feb 13 2010 9:35 AM

    Great picture!! You certainly have a grest imagination to come up with these wonderful shots. Have a good weekend. mk

  3. Pia / Feb 16 2010 11:41 AM

    oooh, i LIKE the little two droplets! how neat!

Leave a Reply

