Skip to content
February 9, 2010 / Steve

Day 40 – Fabulous & Fascinating

Late this morning, I was pouring some coffee into a cup when I got my inspiration for today’s shot – a theme based on the infamous number 40.

I got this coffee cup for my 40th birthday from my sister, who got it from me four years earlier when she turned 40. (Nicely re-gifted Sher!)

So there’s day four-oh! A steaming cup of joe in my special mug, meant just for this occasion, with some girl scout cookies that just arrived.

Thin Mints have NOTHING on the Samoa’s by the way….

The technical details:

Camera: 5D Mark II
Lens: 24-105mm
1/125 sec. | f/16 | ISO 100 | 105mm
  • 430EX at full power into a small softbox at camera left  just above the subject, pointing down slightly
  • 540EZ bare, 1/4 power at camera right almost level with the bottom, pointing slightly up through the steam toward the softbox

Here’s the setup shot:

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Natalie / Feb 9 2010 7:47 PM

    You have a way of making me feel like an inadequate photographer. Samoas definitely have beaten out the Thin Mints! Nice shot.. Just hit 40 myself…what’s a number, right?

    • Steve / Feb 9 2010 8:09 PM

      Exactly! Just a number with a bad reputation.

  2. Dave / Feb 9 2010 9:20 PM

    ha. The classic re-gift. I think your sis one upped you!

  3. Marilyn / Feb 10 2010 12:57 PM

    Hi Steve Great job capturing the steam from you cup of coffee. It looks like you could reach right out and take one of the cookies. Beautiful!!!

  4. Sherrie / Feb 10 2010 3:48 PM

    Another great shot Steve! And the mug…I’m glad to see that once again it helps to celebrate another 40 milestone. Samoas — also my fave.

    • Steve / Feb 10 2010 3:50 PM

      Indeed. Maybe it’s time to pass this on once again now… 🙂

  5. Mom / Feb 10 2010 7:09 PM

    How fun! Glad you kept the mug for your 40th day! The shot was great and soooo realistic – hope a girl scout comes to our door soon. Ha

Leave a Reply

