Skip to content
February 7, 2010 / Steve

Day 38 – Surf City Runner

Today was the Surf City Marathon in Huntington Beach, CA. Due to its popularity and the limited parking in Hungtington Beach, they limit the registrations to 20,000 runners, and nearly twice as many people come to the event.

I’m feature a picture today that is technically not a good picture. It’s not even close to being in focus, and that’s something that I’m usually very picky about. I like tack sharp images. With that said, there’s an artistic element and something about this picture that I really like. I know this is one of those images that you either love or hate. You’ll either see it like I do, or you’ll think “how did I ever choose to include this one in the project?”

I saw this guy coming from a long way off, and I could not get a good frame of him because of the amount of runners between us. This was the only one I got of him unfortunately. He was digging deep, and was really struggling to get to the finish, but the determination in his face and his unique hair was photographic gold. I didn’t get the picture I wanted of him, but I like this one in a different way.

This is kind of a dual post today. I wouldn’t normally get up at 6 AM on a Sunday to drive an hour away for an event like this. I’m not a runner, unless something I fear is chasing me.

My friend Michele was running her first full marathon and I wanted to be there to capture the moment, whether it be joy or pain. Unfortunately, it was kinda painful at the end, but she finished strong and it was awesome to be there.

Great job Michele – and congratulations! I hope your blisters and sore hip heal up quick. 🙂

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pia / Feb 9 2010 1:37 PM

    LUKER! Way cool!!!

    i, personally, like the dude. there’s so much emotion in his face.

  2. Natalie / Feb 9 2010 7:53 PM

    I waited to comment on this picture… I think mostly because it surprised me. I’m still not quite sure what I think of it as a whole. My first thought was that it could be crisper, and yet, oddly, it’s cool that it isn’t especially given the circumstances in which you captured the moment for this guy. Love his hair, love the determination in his face, love how some of his skin is slick, some not, there’s really a lot here, without a lot of set-up on your part. I’d be curious to see the other onese of him that you shot. This is definitely worth more than one look.

  3. Steve / Feb 9 2010 8:44 PM

    I took quite a few decent hardcore “marathoner” photos – the kind you would expect. For example:
    http://svsimagery.smugmug.com/Friends-Family/Friends/11177357_edVM9#783547357_bELrt-A-LB

    The thing is, the photo I featured on this post just had a soul that the other’s didn’t (in my opinion). I don’t know how else to explain it. Photography is art, and as a result, subjective. I don’t expect that everyone will always love what I’m doing, and in most cases that’s not my goal. When I post something like this, I’m very interested to see what other people say about it.

Leave a Reply

