Skip to content
January 28, 2010 / Steve

Day 28 – La Luna Composition

Tonight I played tennis with my buddy Vic. I lost pretty bad. Savor the flavor Vic… it will be short lived! Anyway, before heading home, I mentioned that I didn’t have any ideas for today’s photo yet. Minutes later after arriving home, I had a voicemail from him, simply saying “Hey dude, shoot the moon!!”

Great idea Vic! So… I did.

I’m not big on black and white, but this worked for me. You’ll noticed that I titled this La Luna “Composition”. Well, this photo was not what it really looked like; it is a composition of two photos.

One photo framed the palm frawns, but the moon in that picture is actually only about 1/10th the size of what you see here. I took another picture of the moon at full zoom on my longest reaching lens, and then cropped it, removed the background, and then placed the new, larger moon into the first photo with the palm frawns. From that point, I just had to figure out what kind of effect I wanted on the photo (colors, vignetting, etc.).

Both pictures used in this composition were shot this evening, just minutes apart, so I didn’t break any 365 project rules. 🙂 Thank god for digital photography, where creating art like this is easy. I can’t imagine what it would take to do this with film.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Natalie / Jan 28 2010 8:12 PM

    Another amazing shot. The moon looks huge!

Leave a Reply

