Skip to content
January 25, 2010 / Steve

Day 25 – Cardiff After Dark

Tonight, I set up my tripod and camera next to The Beach House restaurant in Cardiff by the Sea for some nighttime long exposures.

While this picture may look like a sunset, it’s not. It was nearly 10 PM when I took this photo, and the lights are coming from the roadway and the city lights beyond. That, combined with a little photoshop is how I ended up with this look.

To the eye, this scene was nearly black, aside from glaring lights from the road and the waves that were illuminated when they crashed by the lights of the restaurants. It took a 30 second exposure at ISO 1000 to get the camera to take in enough light to make it look like this.

I had been wanting to get more into long exposure photography, due to the dreamy and sometimes mysterious look the images have. It’s funny to me now that I end up doing quite a bit of it because I couldn’t squeeze in time during daylight hours for the day’s photo.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dave / Jan 25 2010 11:09 PM

    PS is in big trouble….wow. Nice.

  2. Pia / Jan 26 2010 3:58 PM

    That’s amazing to me that this is a night shot. As an average joe who doesn’t do the photography thing, I really appreciate your explanations. Fascinating!

    • Steve / Jan 26 2010 4:39 PM

      That’s good to know. I’ll continue to do that. I was wondering if anyone was digging that part of it or if perhaps I was getting to technical.

  3. wendy / Jan 27 2010 3:43 PM

    I love looking at the world from your eyes and your thought. Hopefully, you save me a ticket in the future for a showing of all of your collections!

  4. Natalie / Jan 28 2010 10:16 AM

    Amazing!

Leave a Reply

