Skip to content
January 23, 2010 / Steve

Day 23 – “You Stay Classy San Diego”

I couldn’t resist the quote from “Anchorman – The Legend of Ron Burgundy” for today’s post title. For those who haven’t seen it, it’s a Will Ferrell movie; silly, lighthearted humor. For myself, I think it’s Hi-Larious.

My excursion for today’s photo was the best part of my day, with gorgeous weather and lots to see. I’m also super happy with this picture.

On the way down to the freeway I spotted some deer feeding in San Elijo Lagoon and pulled over to grab a few shots. Deer are common everywhere else in the country it seems, but you just don’t see them much in southern California, especially near the coast. Then, at the same spot I also got some decent pictures of a White Egret before finally getting on the freeway and heading downtown.

Just after parking at the Tidelands Park on Coronado Island, I noticed a group of photographers with an instructor doing some sort of class. They were taking pictures of a stuffed bear, which is as good a way as learning as any I suppose but it looked kind of funny and I thought made for an interesting picture.

My last destination was about a quarter mile from where I parked, and put me in the spot where I took the picture above. There were a few other photographers down there doing the same thing. Some stick to themselves and don’t really want to talk about what their doing, like it’s a closely guarded secret. The rest all like to share what their doing and be friendly. I’m in the latter group. Once the light hits just right though, it’s like break time is over and everyone goes to work to try to capture the best light of the day. Once “the show” is over, we all pack up and go home.

The more I take pictures, the more I love it. The only real requirement is that you have to observe when interesting or beautiful things happen. I’m only bummed I didn’t start doing this sooner.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dave / Jan 23 2010 9:25 PM

    dude, simply amazing shot. Patrick S has nothing on this shot. You nailed it.

    • Steve / Jan 23 2010 9:37 PM

      Thanks a mil Dave, although I’m not sure about the Patrick S part. 🙂

  2. Mom / Jan 25 2010 1:18 PM

    Wow! What a shot!Makes me want to come to San Diego and see it for myself. You are a great photographer!

  3. Victor / Jan 25 2010 4:47 PM

    Can I use this for my screen saver?, I cant wait to show Michele she still has a thing for the OC. SD is the place I Love it here! Great shot Steve

  4. Pia / Jan 26 2010 3:55 PM

    Postcard-perfect, Steve-o. So beautiful.

  5. wendy / Jan 27 2010 3:32 PM

    Amazing! Wish I lived in SD.

  6. Natalie / Jan 28 2010 9:47 AM

    This makes me want to come see San Diego for myself…and what a great trip you had to get this shot, deer, egret…I’m jealous!

Leave a Reply

