Skip to content
January 17, 2010 / Steve

Day 17 – Arboretum

I have been remembering the Arboretum at Balboa Park lately, thinking it would be a nice subject for the project. Since I have shot it before, I wanted to do something different so I made it a night excursion.

I got pretty excited when I saw how reflective the pond was at night. The vertical orientation of the structure with it’s reflection made a portrait the perfect fit.

As a side note, Balboa Park at night is grand central for the homeless. I actually did photograph and speak with a guy named Zeke, but the pictures didn’t really turn out like I’d hoped. I’m inspired about the idea behind this type of photography though, and will keep at it, hoping to best my efforts from Day 5.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dave / Jan 18 2010 7:50 AM

    this is amazing, great exposure and composition.

  2. Niki / Jan 18 2010 10:28 PM

    love the night shot of the park and i think that it is great that you met zeke đŸ™‚ everyone has a story

  3. Kim / Jan 19 2010 5:51 PM

    Gorgeous Steve

Leave a Reply

