Skip to content
January 15, 2010 / Steve

Day 15 – Target Practice

Today I’m posting my picture early. I had Susan help me with this one over lunch. Technically, this is her picture, since she snapped the shutter on the camera. I’m the gunman all blurry in the background. 🙂

I had an idea for a high speed action shot but didn’t know how easy it would be to pull off – catching the moment of impact of a pellet at 1/8000 sec. shutter speed. Surprisingly, we nailed ever frame we tried and this one had the best action. What a team!

From my point of view, there was the satisfaction of nailing the shot and the giggle from watching Susan jump every time I hit the cup. haha

When setting this up, I was considering which would be harder; hitting the cup or timing the shutter. Originally, I was planning on having Susan shoot the pistol, but when I saw how close the camera needed to be to get the shot I wanted, I decided to fire the gun. That way, if I put a pellet into a $3000 camera, I would only have myself to blame.

I probably won’t post another shot like this for the project, but I will definitely do this again. It was a blast!

Forrest Gump photography – “Ya never know what you’re gonna get”

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pia / Jan 15 2010 5:52 PM

    WAY cool! Plus I love the story about the set up. I can just imagine Susan sitting there snapping the photo and being all nervous because there’s a GUN pointed in her direction. You owe her big time, I think.

    • Steve / Jan 15 2010 6:15 PM

      I am quite sure she agrees with you. 🙂

  2. tom murpht / Jan 15 2010 11:16 PM

    Steve
    Super photos,”every one” looking forward to tomorrow.
    “Make My Day”
    dad

  3. Victor / Jan 25 2010 4:59 PM

    Im getting caught up on the pics, keep up the good work, you are starting to scare me… your wife is a brave girl- I hope your aim is better than your serve.

    • Steve / Jan 25 2010 5:10 PM

      We can discuss that on the tennis court dude!!! 🙂

  4. Natalie / Jan 28 2010 9:53 AM

    Steve, I love this shot… and of course the story of the set up. Susan is a brave woman! I had to share this one with some local friends here in CO.

  5. Mel / Jan 28 2010 10:06 PM

    is that a Flip Cup??

    • Steve / Jan 28 2010 10:26 PM

      Why yes, I believe it is! 🙂 Haven’t played that game in awhile.

  6. Kim / Feb 1 2010 9:00 PM

    Absolutely fantastic Steve

Leave a Reply

