Skip to content
January 12, 2010 / Steve

Day 12 – A little light painting

Here’s another thing I’ve seen done before which I wanted to try – light painting. This a technique where you leave the shutter open on your camera for a long time in the dark while you use a light source to illuminate parts of the scene in front of the camera. There are some really masterful, artistic people doing this and I think the work they produce is mesmerizing.

Here’s my first attempt, using my 350Z

In this case, the shutter was open for 30 seconds, while I ran back and forth with an accessory flash popping it about 20 times over areas of the car. In the last remaining seconds, I got down on my knees in front of the door and used an LED flashlight for my signature, which was hard by the way, because you have to do it backwards!

It’s certainly rough around the edges and I could see how there’s a real art to perfecting this technique to the level that some have. Still, it’s fun to try because you don’t know what you’ll end up with until the shutter closes and you can look at it on the camera.

I didn’t have time to clean my cluttered garage first. 🙂

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pia / Jan 14 2010 6:02 PM

    ooo, i like this one, Steve!

    • Steve / Jan 14 2010 6:04 PM

      Hey Pia, thanks! Good to hear from you.

  2. Natalie / Jan 28 2010 9:55 AM

    Holy cow! I’m amazed at what you did to take this shot…I didn’t know stuff like this was possible.

Leave a Reply

