Skip to content
January 9, 2010 / Steve

Day 9 – Oceanside Pelican

Part of my weekends usually involve spending some time at or near the beaches around San Diego. Winter here is actually my favorite time of year, with warm weather and crystal clear days (no foggy marine layer like we get in the spring and early summer).

This was taken at the Oceanside Pier, where I got to spend a couple of minutes with my pelican friend here.  I was just taking a leisurely stroll down the pier, snapping some pictures of surfers and a few random people when I noticed I was standing right next to him (maybe 4 or 5 feet away). Needless to say I was pleasantly startled. He didn’t seem at all worried about me and sat still for a few pictures, of which this one was the best.

Click the pic to see a larger version.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dave / Jan 10 2010 7:58 AM

    congrats on the shot and making Explore

  2. lauracee / Jan 19 2010 8:21 PM

    Oh he is amazing. I love Pelicans, the face has such character …you captured that aspect very well.

  3. Shelly Murphy / Jan 21 2010 10:38 PM

    This is my favorite, or maybe the surfers, or maybe…
    This was my first chance at seeing these amazing works of art. I have always used you as an example of doing what you love ( and “you won’t work a day in your life”) Steve, you are inspiring.

    Shelly

Leave a Reply

